Visual Ethnography

1531634_10153646564710338_603870091_o

This week I chose of photo from the past with my parents. Unfortunately they are back home right now as I pursue my hockey and school dreams. However, I think this photo really gives a powerful visual of the relationship with have all in one photograph. They have been my number one supporters since day one and I believe this photo taken at Christmas time really shows the love and support I get each and ever day.

My mother and father both agree that a photo capturing us all together at once would be a great way to express our strong relationship. It has been difficult for all of us since I have spent eight to ten months of a year away from home for hockey and school so anytime we spend quality time together it is always special.

A photo with any location of three of us is always special. If anyone else were to be in the picture, it would be with more of our family or friends. Any time spent with family and friends is good time spent and it can be captured in a photo, then it is even better. It also seems like many of the pictures we take revolve around hockey because we are a hockey passionate family.

I learnt that family is honestly everything, at least to me. Families that stick together are able to push through life. Not all family has to be blood to blood because it can be a close friend that you may consider family as well. It is always nice knowing for me personally that I have the love and support of my parents through the thick and thin.

It was nice asking my parents about this photo as well. Getting their perspective on family and how far we have come together. We could not have done it without each other and for that I am grateful and thankful each and every day I wake up!

3 thoughts on “Visual Ethnography

  1. This is such a sweet post! My boyfriend plays hockey, so I am very familiar with what being part of a “hockey family” entails. I find it interesting that you mentioned that family doesn’t have to be blood; I’m sure you consider your teammates through the years part of your family as well. I had a lot of friends growing up who weren’t very close with their family, but considered my family to be part of theirs. I think it’s really important for people to realize that “family” doesn’t have to mean blood relatives: it can be anyone who loves and respects you for who you are!

  2. I too am an athlete and for the last 16 years of my life, my family has always been there to support me and bring me to every soccer game they could. Now that I’m in college, the distance for my family to come watch me play is a little far for some games, but they still manage to come to as many games as they can. Being on co-op and at school, spending time at home with my family has been difficult so whenever we’re able to get together it too is also special. I always say “family over anything” because when it comes down to it, there’s nothing I wouldn’t do for my family. I like this picture because it shows the connection and the love between you, your parents, and hockey.

  3. I very must agree when you mention that family is everything. I find that my family are the only ones who truly have my bet interests at heart. Furthermore I also stand in solidarity with you on the difficulties from being so far remote from home, and family, however like you said its a necessity as we all follow our goals, and dreams.

Leave a Reply

