Weinschenk Home Screen

screenshot-nov-3-2016-5-42-53-pm

I’ll admit I’m pretty obsessive about how my phone is set up, and I always try to keep things similar from phone to phone while improving the layout each time. I thought it would be interesting to see how Weinschenk’s principles apply to my phone home screen.

“People Can’t Actually Multitask” is one principle that definitely applies to phones. If I want to look something up quickly I don’t want to be distracted by having to sort through all my apps to find the appropriate one to use, which is why I squeeze everything onto one screen. If I have to open the app drawer there’s a chance I’ll forget about what I was looking for in the first place. I want the experience to be as smooth as possible and have it be an extension of my body rather than having to poke around through the phone to find what I need.

“People Are Driven to Create Categories” is another principle. I avoided using categories for the longest time but now that I do there experience is cleaner. Rather than having separate tiles for the Camera and Snapchat I put them in one category to save space. I use Spotify every day but haven’t moved my entire music library to it, so I put Spotify and Poweramp (for local files) in a category. The category on the bottom right is a miscellaneous category mostly born out of necessity. I spent a lot of time in New York City over the summer which drew me to create this category. It’s really nice to be able to pull open Google Maps quickly and find out the best route to a destination. Chrome is a good way to find proper addresses in the first place, and look for places nearby. I try to use WiFi when I can which is why OpenVPN and Speedtest are also in the category. Public WiFi is generally pretty terrible, and often not trustworthy, hence the VPN. Also a lot of times WiFi will connect but there won’t be any internet connection, hence Speedtest. Speedtest will tell me quickly whether I’m even able to access the Internet, and whether the connection is fast enough to bother using.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Weinschenk Home Screen

  1. I like that your phone is very organized, but how do you keep yourself organized? I see that your home screen does not have a planner so I was wondering how do you increase productivity and improve your organizational skills at the same time?

    I thought the same thing –people can’t actually multitask when using their phones. My phone layout is not as organized as yours but I do not think that would make a difference because if I organize the exact same way, I would still press different buttons and then different things would pop up. In addition to Weinschenk principles, you made a valid point about create categories in order to help our phones to be cleaner and save space. I think I am going to try and create categories and see if it works for me. Great advice!

  2. Hey,

    I really like how you talk about your phone as a way to stay organized, multitasking on a phone is a bit harder than on a computer or some other form of technology. But there are new things being created every day to help with this. for example, the Samsung Galaxy s6 has a feature that allows for you to have two apps open and running side by side almost as if you had two monitors. this can help with multitasking but all it is really helping you with is switching between apps faster and allowing you to access the content more readily.

  3. I always put the most important apps that I use on the home page of my phone, as well as remove any unnecessary apps and widgets. I recently had to get my Samsung Galaxy replaced due to a damaged screen, and have been doing this all over again the last few days. It comes with certain things such as a story album and amazon shortcut already in the homepage that I immediately dragged off. I’ve also been read adding other apps/widgets that allow me to instantly play music from the homepage and check how much data I’m using.

  4. Home screen layout is something that I find to be very conducive to increase productivity. By being able to set the applications that are used or needed the most in an easily and quickly accessible space makes productivity that much quicker. Google has recently made it even easier on setting up new devices on their ecosystem, now it will automatically set up your home screen to be identical to it was on your previous device in their ecosystem.

  5. It is interesting how the organization of our phones can be better understood when compartimentalisation is used. That our brains are better able to make sense of large collections of information when that information is organized in a type of file system definitely draws parallels between our minds and the logic of a computer. It it likely that examples of this can be found in many aspects of our life and that the order ended by catagorization leads to greater efficiency in all things.

Leave a Reply

