Weinschenk “How People Think”

Weinschenk’s “How People Think” is very relevant for the projects that I am currently working on in my classes. In my design class we were given the task to create an innovative vending machine that would dispense food and drinks. When creating the UI my group and I had to think of why someone is choosing to use a vending machine versus just going to a restaurant, and this reading helped me understand how people see and interact with the interface of a design.

One section in the reading that stood out to me was chapter 43, “Expectations of Frequency Affect Attention”. This chapter explained how a man in Texas boarded a flight with a loaded handgun in his laptop case because TSA missed it while checking him in. This could have been because TSA is not used to dealing with those that have weapons, they’re used to seeing bottles of lotion and other items, so they missed the gun because it was unexpected. This played a large role in my design because I based a lot of the design around myself. Then thinking about others, I realized that I can tailor the app to filter out options for those who have allergies or have a fosketchesod sensitivity.

Another section that stood out to me was chapter 58, “People Will Look For Shortcuts Only If The Shortcuts Are Easy”. In today’s society I think everyone is trying to find a more efficient way of doing something. If there is a faster way to accomplish a goal, most people will take the faster way as long as it is easy. I kept this in mind while working on my design and tried to make it as simple as possible. I did this by making sure only relevant information is displayed and tried to make it so the user would not have to go to many different pages in order to complete their order.

I really enjoyed this reading because with my major and the career I hope to obtain in the future, it is necessary to understand how people think so I can make a UI that people find easy to use. The reading helped me understand how users interact with interfaces and what they value the most about the products they are using.

2 thoughts on “Weinschenk “How People Think”

  1. As a design student as well, I also found Weinschenk’s ideas applicable! It’s always interesting to read something that I feel most designers intuitively know or realize. It’s refreshing to know the logic and reasoning behind the design choices we make — as well as areas where we can improve. For example, I have always been from the school of thought that less clicks > more clicks, as Weinschenk mentions. It was interesting to read, then, how sometimes more actions can balance out less thought because motor is less “weighty” than cognitive. Reading these Weinschenk chapters will definitely inform my designs, just like yours were!

  2. I will assume that by “UI” you mean “User Interface”.

    I very much enjoyed this post, you made a very logical order of things, and proved why this information is helpful in many fields. For me as an Engineer I most likely won’t have the pleasure of creating any User Interfaces, but I should still keep in mind that my drawings, and design specifications will need to be interrupted by someone like yourself (a design major) to then create a User Interface off of said specifications. I really like how you showed the chapters that directly changed your thinking and how your app was bettered in the meantime. Too often people ignore the needs of the less than 50% of people statistics, but when designing something you want to include EVERYONE because everyone is a potential customer or user.

Leave a Reply

