Robochime: A Visual Analysis

img_0042

I found this research poster about building a “robochime” in Gleason. Ironically, there was a second poster about the same project next to it, but I was more drawn to this one because of its better visual design. To me, that was a perfect example of how good visual design is beneficial.

I really enjoyed how visual this poster was. The design process is told mostly through photographs, which I thought helped make the poster captivating. The timeline modules offering brief descriptions of the process work add more layers of meaning to the images without being overwhelming. The information is very bite-sized, making it easy to understand. I also liked the added vertical rule that divided each column. This visual cue helped me group which information belongs to which heading.

There are a few things I would adjust: a stricter grid system, more consistent typography, and less arbitrary color decisions There is a loose grid determined by the three columns and three rows that structure most of the information which I think works very well. However, the grid falls apart when looking at individual elements. For example, the images in “Design Process” are all different sizes and start and end in different places. In the timeline, the text is centered in each yellow box. I think it would have a more structured look if all of the text began at the top of each box. The most distracting out-of-line element is the heading for “Final Product” — I would align that with the other two headings. Next, the main typography in the three columns appears to change sizes. I would make sure that it is the same style and size across the poster. Finally, while the gradient across the timeline looks nice, to me, it doesn’t seem to hold much meaning. I would change the background color of all of the modules to the light yellow, especially because the darker gold seems to affect readability of the type.

Overall, I think this was a really nice poster. It was very easy to look at, not overcrowded with information, and a good amount of white space for the eye to rest.

2 thoughts on “Robochime: A Visual Analysis

  1. I TOTALLY AGREE with your recommendation for a change in this as it made much sense to convert it to a better format. I can sense this one was appealing to me but could have done better for its structure itself. This image shows great sense of data and rich content but can be done better for its tool and feature importance. The attention was there but the labeling wasn’t as that is what can be improved on. This image was respecting the audience and welcomed my eye to observe and make my reporting on my finding.

  2. I found this poster to be an effective visual design. I think it has a very natural layout, so that the viewer isn’t overwhelmed with trying to figure out where they should be looking. The horizontal timeline particularly accomplishes this, by giving a step by step overview of the project in a natural left to right format. The timeline bubbles also have a gradual fade in color which draws the eye in a certain direction so that you can see the progression of the project.

    I agree with you that the pictures were a good choice to help illustrate the project. I especially like how there were a variety of different types of pictures, including graphs, charts, and real life photographs, so you could get a sense of the different parts of the project. I think the best part about this poster is that it does not have a lot of words, which keeps it uncluttered and doesn’t intimidate the viewer with its complexity.

    I understand your criticisms with the way the words are laid out however, because the changing fonts and alignments of the words are distracting. If the stricter grid system was adhered to, I think this would be a very good example of a scientific poster.

Leave a Reply

