Eye Tracking – Logos

aValuable Study

I think it would be an interesting for a study to be done to determine eye tracking when viewing a company’s logo. I am using a collage of logos as my illustration for this week as I don’t believe there would be as much value in studying just one logo.

Why is eye tracking valuable in studying this?

Eye tracking can be useful in this case so that we can evaluate the effectiveness of a company’s logo. Knowing how a person looks at a logo would help us when developing future logos, potentially allowing us to create designs that are more effective in creating a bond with consumers.

Why would eye tracking work well?

Eye tracking would work well for this because it is important to know how someone is looking at a logo and how they get to it. The purpose of a logo is to attract someone’s attention and create a connection between the image and a brand or a product, so knowing how it is that we view logos is important to this.

Would it be better to have multiple methods?

I do not believe it is necessary to have multiple methods for this experiment. The experiment is based on the tracking of eye movements to and on logos, so introducing other factors would only serve to take away from that.

Organization of the study:

In order to perform this study, unique logos will need to be created. This means that we would not be using logos for existing companies that people are already familiar with. These logos can then be placed on a number of poster or paper advertisements. Eye movement can then be tracked to determine when people locate these logos and how long they spend looking at them. The results can be organized by shape, color, size, and possibly text on a logo to determine which factors have the biggest influence on how people view logos.

Hopeful Discoveries:

I would hope that by completing this study I could determine what it is that makes people focus on a logo. Are consumers more attracted by certain colors? Or is there a certain size that they may overlook? How much time is spent reading text on logos, or is the text more often ignored? This study could also produce results on whether people are more likely to look at a logo depending on where they are in an advertisement.

Challenges:

I could foresee an issue with participants not being able to locate logos in an image because they are unfamiliar with them, but I do not wish to use known logos because I fear that they will more easily attract attention or be ignored due to their association with their companies and products. I could also potentially see an issue with this study being too broad and collecting a lot of data with little way to determine why things actually played out the way that they did.

2 thoughts on “Eye Tracking – Logos

  1. I had a different idea about what your collage of logos was about. I thought it was about how people scan through the collage of logos and track our eyes to see which logos got the most “pauses” because we recognized them. At first I thought the logos were for gasoline company. As I was scanning throughout the collage I found myself pausing at the logos I recognized and then I realized those logos were for different types of products and companies.

    Your discussion about how each logos were designed and how unique each designs were based on how colorful (or not) and how their future logos should look like.

    In fact, I went back to the image to scan for logos based on your discussion, but I still found myself scanning for more logos I recognized. The collage of logos was a fun eye-tracking activity, though 🙂

  2. I love this idea for eye tracking! I think it would be very helpful and generally inexpensive way for a company to test if their logo is eye catching and also to test other new logos and see which is most effective. There is value to understanding which logo consumers are fixating on to decide which logo would be most effective for getting brand awareness and likability.

Leave a Reply

