EYE and Tracking at the Bar!

While reading and learning about the Eye tracking, the first thing that came to my mind was every time that I go out to restaurants is that the bar is always stocked with so many different brands and liquor. It does make me wonder what would grasp my attention the first when I look at the bar. I could never decide on what I would like to try because I always keep going to my typical drink. I often find myself wondering if other customers think the same as I do. Design and logo as well as labeling it is what makes customers eye attract so this photo is what I took at this bar in South Bend when I attended the Notre Dame game against Michigan State on September 17th,. Branding is the factor in the eye tracking as everybody has their own preference.

nd-barCustomers likes to see what is being offered first unless they notice something that pops out to them. There are so many brands and designs out there so it’s literally impossible to like them all at once. The branding is what customers looks at to see what their preference are.

 

I think that what would benefit them is that they have the liquor on the walls than behind the bar as people who sit down to dine wouldn’t even know what is being offered at the restaurant as they don’t list everything on the menu. What I mean by on the wall is to list the entire beverage that’s available or even have the bottles on the wall for visible purpose. Some people prefer tequila, whiskey, bourbon, or rye so this needs to be addressed the moment they enter the restaurant. What if the customer was a wine person and they don’t serve wine? They lose a customer right there on the spot.  While researching this view, I think they should have kept their most expensive visible as they are well known to everybody rather than hiding them. It does wonder why I took a long time to look to see what brand was available.

 

The first thing that I mentioned earlier on is that the liquor is behind the bar and stashed low away where it isn’t visible so that is a distraction. Another distraction is that the bartender keeps getting in the way which is a sore eye to me. If they put it somewhere higher, it would be more appealing to the eye and attract the audience better.  One thing that caught my attention was that there was two empty bottles just sitting there and my first question was “How long has that bottle been sitting there for?” I don’t think that is a good idea to do that as it was sitting there when I arrived and still was there when I left. Somebody needs to pay attention to small details as an empty bottle needs to be tossed away or put away in the proper place to be replaced with a new bottle.

 

6 thoughts on “EYE and Tracking at the Bar!

  1. Mark I find this to be an interesting topic to discuss eye tracking. As all of these bottle are stationary so one would not think of the eye is “tracking” anything here. But the definition described by the readings and material explains how eye-tracking is the method in which our eyes gather information and dart around with varying focus points to gather the information needed to give our brain the “whole picture” that we see.

    I agree that a bar scene is always a catastrophic mess. Beers on tap are usually picked based on how flashy the tap handle is (which is why beer companies give them to bars for free). The better the company does at designing their brand or logo, the better the tap handle design can be and that will get more eye attention and lead to more customers. The complaint about the liquors though, I am not sure I can agree, as bars already make sure their “high end” brands are the most displayed for all viewers. Hence the saying “top shelf”. They purposely hide all of the cheap cheap liquors under the bar so you as a customer don’t get turned away by the $10 handles of liquor they will serve you in all your drinks unless you specifically ask for something on the shelf.

    I do agree that a menu with logo’s and reviews would help people make clear choices and venture out away from their “usual”. And if a bar had a large enough display wall to show off all the bottles that they offered that would be very interest.

  2. I thought that it was neat you decided to pick the bar to do eye tracking analysis. I could not think of a more perfect location than this to analyze people’s eye movement, which will, reflects their human thought processes. In addition to that, it is true that bar is always fully stocked with inventory so sometimes it is harder to analyze which grasp your attention first based on its design and brands. As you mentioned, receiving an offer is the most common method for the customers to recognize what pops out to them. I’ve seen this happen so I agree with you that logo plays a huge role in the branding strategy and the better company design its logo, the more motivating customers to buy their drinks.

  3. Bars don’t generally have a great display for liquor it seems. Not everything is listed on the menu and you also can’t see all the bottles so customers always have to ask. One question your study would be able to answer is: Should bars put the most popular bottles up top so people can see what they have, or should they put them down below since it’s a fair assumption for customers that they have them? Instead the more niche liquors could be up top.

  4. I like the idea of being able to view a bar or restaurant’s wine and liquor selection before going inside. I only reached the legal drinking age recently, and I have already discovered certain types of alcohol that I do not enjoy. Finding out that an expensive restaurant does not serve anything I like to drink AFTER I have already entered it would be most unfortunate.

  5. I certainly agree that eye tracking plays a large role in why bars appear to stock large amounts of visually stimulating liquor behind the bar. The number of bottles gives the appearance of excess and lends itself well to making the bar the center of activity. I do not necessarily agree that list of available liquor being placed around the bar are necessarily needed as people with certain preferences will inquire about their favorite drink’s availability.

  6. This is great! I can contest to eye tracking at a bar being a problem. I’m trying to see what liquor they serve, if they have any specials and honestly, everything is all over the place in a bar. There is no organization. There product placement quite frankly, sucks. They need to get the bottles higher so our eye level stays consistent as we read through the options. They also should illuminate the bottles so people can read them. I have to agree with you bars have the worst product placement layout I have ever seen and it is a problem that needs to be fixed if they want reoccurring customers.

Leave a Reply

