University of Miami: Start ’em young, raise ’em right

Sports have always been a way for people to bond over loving the same team or argue over rivals. So naturally, wearing a shirt representing your team is any way to show (loud and proud) that you support one team over the other. You’re basically a walking visual argument.

My brother goes to U Miami, he’s a sophomore there and ever since he started about a year ago, I’ve been given nothing but UM t-shirts, hats, sweatshirts, sweatpants, keychains, etc. to show that someone I know goes to U Miami… Forget about the fact that I go to my own school with my own sports teams to cheer for. 

Grounds: This shirt would be bought by someone has gone to U Miami and how has a child that obviously must become nothing other than the most faithful and hardcore UM fan from birth.

Warrant: This shirt is trying to show the UM is the best and the only school that anyone should be a fan of. 

Inference: Implies that if you start them off being a UM fan, they will be raised right and continue to be a UM fan for life. 

Final Claim/Conclusion: The best and only way to raise your child is by having them be UM fans, most likely, just like their parents.

Screen Shot 2016-10-01 at 8.31.18 PM.png

3 thoughts on “University of Miami: Start ’em young, raise ’em right

  1. I find the whole “raise them right” message to be a bit hostile, as a way of showing team spirit. Implying that one’s faction is the best is one thing, but saying that others are inferior is another. It invites aggression from others who would feel insulted by the notion that the way they raise their children is somehow inferior to their rival’s. Of course, this could be the case, since sports tend to be very physically active & might welcome a little aggression in fans.

  2. Both the phrase and the aesthetics of this shirt together make for a aggressive feeling visual. Having a shirt be designed in such a way would give viewers a certain impression about University of Miami fans based on this shirt. A perfect idiom for this is the saying “A picture is worth a thousand words.” This shirt brings a negative idea to both the university and their fans.

  3. I think this shirt is actually cool. It brings me back to when I was little and my dad bought me my own Arizona Cardinals jersey. Ever since that day I have been a die hard fan. I can understand how aggression plays into this. I think it is important as parents to instill proper sportsmanship in the beginning. Its okay to have a favorite teams and be all about that team but, that team wont win very time. Therefore, its important to know and realize the true definition of sportsmanship. That’s more on the parents hands to make sure that gets done.

Leave a Reply

