Can You Guess if My Puppy is a Girl or Boy?

IMG_8071.JPG

When thinking about gender identity and what classifies males or females into either specific group, often times the roles of color come into play. It seems as if it was since the beginning of time that blue is for boys and pink is for girls. When a couple gets pregnant those are the choices for wall color, decorations, bed spreads and clothes, and if they don’t know the sex, yellow it is, the neutral color.

I remember a few years back there was a light pink shirt that said “Only Real Men Wear Pink” on it. Okay, but why? Since when is pink not allowed to be worn by males? And are there any other colors that females aren’t allowed to wear without being called masculine?

In the more recent years androgyny has become increasingly popular, and with that, the color scheme of males and females has been blended. Men now wear pink and purple and women are wearing, well basically the same thing they’ve been wearing all along. Maybe darker colors? Maybe more blues and black and greens? Maybe more masculine fitting pieces of clothing.

When I adopted my puppy, everyone asked what kind of color the pup would be. I didn’t really care based on gender, I just wanted it to fit my new baby’s personality. I went with red. It’s one of the colors of my sorority (and the pup lives in the Greek house with me so it seemed appropriate) and it just fits them well. The puppy’s food and water bowl is red too.

Just like the video said, sometimes when looking at someone you can’t tell whether they are more masculine or feminine and barely anyone fits the exact specifications of what one gender is compared to the other, no one is just completely one sided. Everyone has a little bit of a mix in them, no matter what. This also includes color and the way they decide to present themselves and what they wear.

So is my dog a boy or a girl? Can you tell just by looking at their leash?

My puppy is a boy, his name is Bear, and here he is 🙂

IMG_0962.jpeg

 

 

5 thoughts on “Can You Guess if My Puppy is a Girl or Boy?

  1. First off, you have a cute puppy! I really like your explanation regarding gender identity by using your dog as an example. I can relate to you what you went through completely because I am a dog owner too of my lovely pup and her name is Sky. Every time I would talk about her to my friends or people that I know, they would automatically assume that my dog is a male because of how the name sounds and her leash used to be baby blue color too. I think its difficult to judge the gender solely based on the color that people wear or the names that its parents pick.

    For instance, my favorite color is olive green as opposed to girly color schemes and I often wear my clothes in olive green and it can sometimes be considered as neutral color that has nothing to do with how I should be identified. There was one time where my raincoat was in olive green and left that on my couch and all of a sudden –my roommate thought it was his friends’ jacket and I could not find my jacket for a few days.

    I do think that having an item with “natural” gender can make somewhat impact on our lives. That being said, I agreed that we all often make assumptions about gender identity based on what we see daily. It is our natural reaction when we see something unique. It is quite interesting to see how color revolves around. By the way, great post!

  2. When we got two cats (8 weeks old at that time – siblings – male and female). My children went shopping for collars. My daughter doesn’t like pink and refused to buy a pink collar for the female cat. So, a blue collar was for the male and red collar was for the female. And we would like to think their names are gender neutral, Ani and Yoda. Can you guess which name is the female’s name?

    Even though I like pink, it is not because I am a female, but my other favorite color is beige. You should hear what people have to say when they find out that beige is one of my favorite colors. “What?! Why? it is not exactly a color!” People are saying black and white are not colors, but they are, right? Pets are a great example, by the way.

  3. I can absolutely relate to your post because I recently adopted a puppy, now 6 months old. I had a few different leashes at the time with different colors and I too decided to go with red. Bayley is an Australian Shepherd Lab mix and I constantly have people asking what his name is or what his breed is when she is in fact, a female. I don’t necessarily believe it is the color of the leash that people misconstrue the dog to be male or female, but rather the fact that it is a dog. I’ve noticed that people tend to just assume the sex of the dog is male and even for cats, people just tend to assume they are female, which obviously isn’t true. Based on what I’ve experienced and from your post, I believe that the color red for a leash is gender neutral. Like I mentioned, I’ve had people ask about my “male dog” when she is wearing her red collar and leash.

  4. I think its really cool you related the article to dog leashes! Its so annoying how everyone thinks if it is a girl she must have everything pink and if it is a boy everything must be blue.

    When I first got my dog Bella, I was 12 and she was 4 months old. I wanted everything pink for her. I even got her a princess water bowl and pink blanket. Watching her grow up I realized she was anything but a princess, she was a tom boy. That being said, I got rid of her pink harness and leash and got her everything camo because she loves to roll in the mud, play in the leaves, eat some grass and basically do everything and anything she can that’s not girly. People automatically ask me “what’s his name” when I take Bella for a walk down the pier. When I tell them her name is Bella I get the most confused faces, its great!

    Color should not identify you as a gender or ethnicity. We are own our people we like what we like. As I got older I started realizing it and I can only hope the generation below me does the same.
    I LOVE the name Bear, seriously the cutest!

  5. I love the idea behind this post! For example, I love colors orange and light blue I consider those to be gender neutral colors so I got my male cat a light blue color and a orange name tag and my boyfriend said it was girly! Myself and my friends did not think it was girly at all and I was kind of annoyed with my boyfriend, so later that day my boyfriend asked me if I could pick up a simple calculator when I was at Target for him for a class, I got him a pink calculator. 🙂 He was too cheep to go and buy a new one so he used it and quickly changed his tune about my cats color being too girly. When I met my boyfriend he was very traditional and not very open to change but now that we are together I am opening his eyes to less traditional gender stereotypes and he is much more open to change!

Leave a Reply

