Illustration Museum: Impact of decisions (George Eastman)

fullsizerender-2

I have recently visited a local museum nearby and it was the George Eastman Museum in Rochester, New York. It is the world’s oldest museum about photography. When I arrived, I was forced to look at different exhibits and realized that I had no idea that George Eastman was the biggest influential to the developments in regards to Kodak.

The only thing I had to do was to walk through the museum and learned a lot about how Kodak photography was transformed and seeing the Civil War photographs too as well. Although there was no interpreter provided because I did not think to request one and a lot of displays have included the description so I was able to read as I walk through different rooms.

This museum was a part of his estate and his interests as well as his work. It is a tremendous museum to visit and get a feel of his interests regarding technology, medicine, and more. When I first walked into the museum, I was amazed by so many histories and images as there are a lot of displays throughout the building. Entering this museum estate, I was also shocked by the spacing and how well they preserve and protect photographs.

There were some rooms with dark lights and some with more natural light but everything was organized. All of a sudden, I spotted a unique photograph that was taken by Bill Finger titled, “Floating in Most Peculiar Way” and I never saw a picture like this before. It was in an exhibition with all of the history science-related photos. That photo is art and is shown in this post.

When visiting this site, it certainly feels like I was walking back in time. This place is filled with special history and a must-do list for everyone who visits Rochester.

6 thoughts on “Illustration Museum: Impact of decisions (George Eastman)

  1. I agree with you on when you mention about the light effect on the photos. They also do bring out the best in them if thats how I describe it while looking at them. It makes it more density and more defining to look at. Very well explanation and I need to go back there to see if anything has changed since 2003. Its been too long for me. Good reminder!

  2. Hi Nikki,
    I really like your description of the George Eastman Museum, but I have heard so much about it since moving to Rochester. I think it is very clever for a museum to have descriptions by the photographs to suit the accessibilities of a wide range of visitors. The atmosphere of a museum really plays into my experience, having different lighting in rooms must make visitors feel different emotions depending which room they are in.

  3. Growing up in Rochester, I was able to visit the George Eastman House/Museum while learning units in school about Kodak and the creating of photography. You describe perfectly that to anyone who walks into the building, it is very clear the impact that George Eastman had on the beginning of the camera. The history and journey that museum takes you on makes you realize the different stages that cameras went through as well as the different objects and scenes that people chose to photograph. The ease of taking photographs over the years has grown tremendously. This photo that you show, has so many different elements to it that make you want to stop and look. I love the fact that the image looks like it can be flipped upside down and still look fairly similar but with a different perspective. The red planet vs. the lighting of the sun gives off vibes of completely different worlds, while the astronauts holding hands show how they connect. It is an incredible piece.

  4. The George Eastman House really is something else, isn’t it? I remember having a similar reaction to the one you described when I first went there my Freshman year of college. It is such a grand space – especially that atrium which houses the elephant and organ.

    I also think the degree which images are preserved in that space is noteworthy. If you’re interested in such a thing, you can reach out to the Museum and ask to be shown around their archives. There are several floors beneath the museum which house image system labs, climate controlled archives, and more. I was lucky enough to be shown around that section of the space last year as part of a field trip.

  5. This picture is really interesting. The way the light hits it emphasizes the sun in the background. I haven’t been to the George Eastman Museum yet but this really piqued my interest.

  6. The George Eastman House has always been one of my favorite places in Rochester to visit. On one hand they have done an incredible job preserving the historical aspects of both the house and the photography within it, and on another hand they do an incredible job at showing off more modern photography exhibits.
    I have to agree, in all of my experiences there, they have seemed to make an effort to make sure the message of the art was conveyed clearly, though sometimes, especially with the more temporary exhibits, I have noticed they leave the pieces to speak for themselves.
    The way that light is used in this museum is also very important as they display various types of photography from many different time periods, as well as simply some other art displayed around the house. The lighting used, whether it be natural or artificial, is important in helping them convey their intended message.

Leave a Reply

