Illustration Museum: Impact of decisions

14269881_10207157299630922_1850108612_nThe Strong Museum of Play has an exhibit that I have loved since I was a kid. That exhibit is the Wegmans Super Kids Market. As a kid, I can remember going there and trying to figure out the 5 items that I wanted to “buy”. Revisiting it now, it is a lot smaller than I remember when I was a kid. The size of this exhibit made me realize that a lot of things are that way.

The picture above is of the mini Wegmans. I find it interesting how they have a plaque for a pretend Wegmans, which adds to the authenticity. The brick outside and the bright colors inside draw people in. The exhibit does an excellent job of showing you what shopping at Wegmans would feel like. The realistic features, like the cash registers and food, create a sense of nostalgia as a young adult. Now that I have to grocery shop on my own, pretending to do it at a museum is more sad than it is fun. I felt forced to remember finding this charade of adulthood fun as a child, even though I knew the real task I was acting out can be monotonous.

 
The Strong Museum of Play is a place that inspires curiosity in all children while helping them to learn. It is a great place to go to experience a more creative side of learning.

6 thoughts on “Illustration Museum: Impact of decisions

  1. This used to be my favorite part too! Although now I dread going to the grocery store I can remember spending so much time there when I visited the Strong National Museum of Play when I was younger. I think it’s strange that out of all of the supermarkets to choose from they picked Wegmans. While I understand that it can have a lot of ties to people in the Rochester area, I wonder if some of these ideas come from us visiting there as a child and causes us to make long lasting connections that follow us into our adult shopping life?

    Either way I love Wegmans and this post!

  2. When I see the name Wegman, the design of the font is appealing to the eye as well as how they attract people toward it. Also I see the bricks in the bakground which is craftsman and it is my sort of thing so it is pleasing to the audeince in home improvement or outdoor type of people. It is not forcing me to stare to understand what WEGMAN is as it is clear and simple. The logo is not too complicated to memorize once you acknowledge what WEGMAN is. Yes I am big fan of wegmans and they offer many excellent shopping areas inside the store.

  3. That is neat! Actually, I have never went there but I’ve heard many great things about it! I completely agree with you on the fact that we see things bigger than our stomach can eat when we are little. It shows that the marketing department have done a great job in creating a unique experience for all of the kids. One thing that I like about this display is that the font is not too shabby and is visually appealing. It makes me feel excited to go inside even just by reading your post!

  4. When I was little, I used to go to this museum pretty regularly because of growing up in Rochester. This exhibit was one of the only ones that I would look forward too. I would spend hours shopping with my parents and sister trying to decide what we would buy. I would run around the store putting other items back until I found the exact ones I wanted. However, when my class in high school took a trip there to learn about a different exhibit, we took a detour into “Wegmans”. It was tiny compared to what I remembered as a child, and basically everything looked completely different than what I had hyped it up and remembered it to be. The scanners that you check out in, and the isle that you walk up and down seemed unreal. I used to try to go to the isles in the same order my mom would, and scan the items the exact same way by grouping my 5 items by cold/warm products. It is funny how much I idealized this place until I was old enough to compare it to the real world. The imagination that was brought to even the checkout line was so impactful. I will never forget the excitement I had when I was able to walk into the Strong Museum, see that sign that represented the entire store, and then get to be my mom and dad and purchase the family our food.

  5. I like the idea about how perspectives change as we get older. This post made me think of a memory of back when I was a small boy. I remember my kindergarten class took a field trip to out local Stop and Shop (Massachusetts’s version of Wegmans), one of the activities we did there was to scan items at the cash register. As a small boy I remember thinking this was the coolest thing. However as I got older my perspectives have changed. Now grocery stores are a part of mundane everyday life, I even hate using those self check outs!

    -M

  6. Hello Rytiggy,

    I enjoyed your illustration for this week. I am from Canada and we do not have a Wegmans up there. I must say that every time I go through that grocery store, I am never disappointed. The food is fresh, the smell is amazing, and the people are very friendly.

    The picture you took at The Strong Museum of Play is a nice one. It does a good job of replicating what a Wegmans looks like in real life. I am sure it looked a lot smaller now that you are older. I believe that since the exhibit does a good job relating back to what shopping at Wegmans is in real life, it creates that connection with the viewers. I wrote about the Auschwitz for my discussion and mentioned to keep up with millennials and kids of today, they must make it more technology based and hands on. It seems like this exhibit does that and allows for the viewer to make that connection. A reply on this illustration from Breanna Bugbee mentioned, “I think it’s strange that out of all of the supermarkets to choose from they picked Wegmans.” I agree, but it could be because of the Rochester area and that Wegmans is popular around here. I also believe that this exhibit might be so well laid out that it can leave that lasting impression on someone as it did to you. It can also be targeting younger kids and young teenagers so that when it comes time to grocery shopping when they grow older, they will think of Wegmans first.

    Good Work!

    Todd Skirving

Leave a Reply

